Equality and diversity

Equality and diversity

The University of Manchester is committed to providing an environment free from discrimination, bullying, harassment or victimisation, where all members of its community are treated with respect and dignity.

The University has a zero tolerance approach to any forms of bullying, harassment and discrimination and our “We Get It” Campaign aims to end these in our community.

We are fully committed to both meeting and exceeding our obligations under current legislation. By doing more than what's required by law, we build on Manchester's existing reputation for diversity and ensure we equip all our staff and students with the knowledge to sustain and enjoy a fully inclusive working environment.

Specialist staff networks, forums and events are just some of the ways in which we keep our community connected and engaged with diversity issues. Our efforts in going above and beyond legislation have resulted in us receiving several awards by relevant notable external bodies.

We also ensure effective communication between staff and management through our Diversity Calendar, which promotes year-round events across all diversity themes.

We offer training courses for our staff surrounding Equality and Diversity Issues including Unconscious Bias and Supporting Staff with Mental Health Issues.

The School of Physics and Astronomy is a diverse department and we strive to be an open and inclusive environment for all our staff, students and visitors.

We closely follow the University’s Equality and Diversity Policy.

The University of Manchester also has a number of Equality Groups.


The School of Physics and Astronomy has an Equality and Diversity Committee which meets 3 times a year and includes representatives from all sections of our community; undergraduate, postgraduate and staff.

Members of the Committee

Find out more...

Equality and Diversity Committee

Equality and diversity work within the School:

Case studies

▲ Up to the top