Professor Wendy Flavell
(Group Leader)

Professor of Surface Physics

Email
Wendy.Flavell@manchester.ac.uk

My research interests are centred on the electronic structure of complex metal oxides, catalysts and photovoltaics - particularly those of interest in the manufacture of 'next-generation' solar cells.

Dr. David Binks

Senior Lecturer

Email
David.Binks@manchester.ac.uk

I investigate the interaction of light with matter and use the knowledge gained to develop useful material systems and devices. In particular, I want to understand and exploit the photo-physics of nanostructures.

Professor Phil Dawson

Professor of Semiconductor Physics

Email
Philip.Dawson@manchester.ac.uk

I am primarily involved in understanding the optical properties of semiconductor structures. In particular, I am working on materials for the fabrication of light-emitting diodes for incorporation into lighting systems.

Dr. Mark Dickinson

Reader

Email
Mark.Dickinson@manchester.ac.uk

My research interests include medical, dental and biological applications of lasers and photonics. This includes applications for therapy and diagnostics.

Dr. Darren Graham

Lecturer

Email
Darren.Graham@manchester.ac.uk

My research interests are focused on the development and exploitation of ultrafast terahertz radiation sources. This includes both developing novel terahertz radiation sources and the use of terahertz radiation in probing the properties of two-dimensional semiconductor structures.  

Professor George King

Emeritus Professor

Email
George.King@manchester.ac.uk

My research interests are in the use of synchrotron radiation and electron impact processes to study ionization and excitation of atoms and molecules.

Professor Andrew Murray

Professor of Atomic Physics

Email
Andrew.Murray@manchester.ac.uk

My research interests are in understanding the key fundamental processes that drive interactions. In particular, collision physics using laser and electron beams.

Dr. Ahsan Nazir

EPSRC Early Career Research Fellow

Email
Ahsan.Nazir@manchester.ac.uk

Ahsan’s research interests are based around understanding the delicate interplay of quantum coherence and noise in open quantum systems.

Dr. Patrick Parkinson

Lecturer

Email
Patrick.Parkinson@manchester.ac.uk

My research is focussed on the use of ultrashort laser pulses to measure physical processes in materials with a wide variety of optoelectronic applications, specifically for use in light-detection and photovoltaic devices.

Visiting Academics

Back to top

Professor Elaine Seddon

Email
Elaine.Seddon@stfc.ac.uk

My interests are focussed on the spin-resolved electronic structure of materials especially those of relevance to spin electronics applications.  Chiral surfaces and interactions is an additional theme of my research.

Research Staff

Back to top

Dr. Simon Hammersley

Email
Simon.Hammersley@manchester.ac.uk

My research focuses on understanding the physics of light emission from semiconductor nano-structures, with particular focus on solid state lighting applications.

Dr. Marina Leontiadou

Email
Marina.Leontiadou@manchester.ac.uk

Currently I am working on Enhanced Multiple Exciton Generation in Colloidal Quantum Dots. My interest in this subject area is where research can be used both in understanding complex structures of matter and collective phenomena, as well as in developing new technologies useful in everyday life.

Dr. Graham Dinsdale

Email
Graham.Dinsdale@manchester.ac.uk

My research involves using various imaging techniques in the assessment and understanding of connective tissue diseases such as morphoea and systemic sclerosis. Optical coherence tomography (OCT), nailfold capillaroscopy, laser Doppler imaging and thermal imaging are all used to look at the structure and function of human skin and microvasculature.

Dr. Andrea Murray

Email
Andrea.Murray@manchester.ac.uk

My interest is in medical applications of light, particularly for non-invasive imaging. I spend the majority of my time at Salford Royal Hospital. In January 2011 I began an Arthritis Research UK Fellowship  entitled 'Shedding light on the cause of systemic sclerosis: Can non-invasive imaging techniques elucidate pathogenesis and measure disease?'.

▲ Up to the top