£2000 BP bursaries for four physics students

Four physics students are among this year's winners of the BP achievement awards

3 of the 4 physics 2015 BP Achievement Award winners
BP's Sarah Dobson with three of this year's winners

These £2000 bursaries are awarded every year to first- or second-year students on a core science or engineering degree course, with the aim of "recognising, rewarding and supporting academic excellence amongst students who have the potential to excel in their discipline". Competitors were asked to submit their most recent exam results and predicted semester 1 marks, and to write a 1000-word essay on a topic related to the energy industry.

This year's physics winners were first years Savannah Clawson and Kyle Lacey-Andrews and second years Matthew West and Vilius Cepaitis. They were presented with their awards at a prizegiving event on 10th May.

Professor Gary Fuller, Director of Teaching in the School, said: "I would like to congratulate the winners. Their winning projects demonstrate that physicists can successfully apply their skills to problems across a wide range of subjects."


▲ Up to the top